Raising champions since 1961

The Sydney Figure Skating Club  is Australia’s oldest surviving figure skating club. It was conceived in 1961 at the Bondi Junction Ice Rink in Spring Street Bondi Junction, and this is quite possibly where the club chose its distinctive colours of blue, white and red. The Bondi Junction rink stood on the same site as the current home of the Roosters Club “Easts”.
Called at that time the Bondi Junction Ice Dance and Figure Skating Club, the Club changed its name to the Sydney Figure Skating Club when it moved to the newly opened Burwood Glaciarium in 1964.
It established the Hollins Trophy in 1968 in honour of the Late Mr Ray Hollins, Club Treasurer and  father of two dedicated skaters.  This event is Australia’s largest non-championship competition and is conducted annually at Canterbury Olympic Ice Rink as an ISU International Inter-club event.

Over nearly 50 years, the Club has had many members who have gone on to represent Australia at international, World and Winter Olympic events.



Entries have now closed for SFSC Club Championships. The skating order can be found below:

SFSC Club Championships Skating Order PDF

The event is going to be held on Saturday 3rd August from 7pm-10:30pm and Sunday 4th August from 4pm-10pm at Canterbury Olympic Ice Rink. For more information, visit the Event Announcement from NSWISA.

We are also currently seeking volunteers to help with the event. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
To register for a volunteering position, follow the link below:


Any concerns or queries regarding SFSC Club Championships or volunteering can be sent to sfsc@sydneyfigureskatingclub.com.

After a spectacular Aussie Skate competition at Canterbury on 30th June, SFSC narrowly trails LCCISC in the overall Aussie Skate competition ladder, which awards points to each club based on the places of their skaters across all the Aussie Skate divisions.

Congratulations to all 32 skaters that represented SFSC at this competition! The results are as follows:

Novice 1
3rd Place Zoe Martinelli

Novice 2
1st Place Lux Betancourt-Thornton

Novice Adult
1st Place Hannah Wood

Intermediate 1
2nd Place Milena Milovanovic

Intermediate 2
1st Place Phoebe Morrison
3rd Place Maximus Betancourt-Thornton
4th Place Abbey Challinor
7the Place Mikaela Ledda
8th Place Madelyn Phu
9th Place Pablo Robertson

Intermediate Adult
1st Place Laura Liu

Freeskate 1 – 12 & Over
1st Place Rita Nip
6th Place Freya Snowdon

Freeskate 2 – 10 & Under
1st Place Mayah Yeung
2nd Place Emily Zhou
4th Place Annabel Heng

Freeskate 2 – 11 and Over
6th Place Lachlan Ledda

Freeskate 3 – 11 & Under
1st Place Kathleen Ye

Freeskate 3 – 12 & Over
3rd Place Talia Ku
5th Place Shannae Ku

Freeskate 4
2nd Place Kylie Barbouttis
6th Place Elizabeth Day
7th Place Annabel Nube

Synchro 2
1st Place Majestic Ice

MJS Trophy entries close on the 28th June, so make sure you register soon if you are intending to compete. All registrations are handled through NSWISA.
Click Here for more details and requirements for MJS Trophy.

SFSC Club Championships are also coming up! Entries are now open and will be closing on the 5th July. The event will be taking place on 3rd-4th August and we will be opening up volunteering rosters closer to the date.
Click Here for more details and requirements for the SFSC Club Championships.

If you encounter any issues with the registration process, please email nswisa@nswisa.com.

A big congratulations to Romy Grogan for securing her second win in Senior Ladies and Mikayla Nelson for her 2nd place finish at Swan Trophy last weekend.

Both of these skaters travelled all the way to Perth to represent SFSC in Western Australia Figure Skating Club’s annual event and should be very proud of their achievements.

If any skaters are representing SFSC in local or interstate events, please send in their results and a photo to sfsc@sydneyfigureskatingclub.com so we can share their accomplishments with the rest of the club.

Sydney Figure Skating Club’s Hollins Trophy has drawn to a close for another year.

It was an outstanding success for both the club and our skaters, who all competed very fiercely over the weekend.

However, none of this would have been possible without the help of our volunteers and officials. Thank you for giving up your long weekend to help keep the competition running smoothly, we definitely couldn’t have done it without you. We are especially grateful to the competition coordinator David Ledda for all of the hours he put into organising and running this event.

A massive congratulations to Romy Grogan, who took home the gold in her Senior Ladies debut; Vlada Vasiliev for topping the podium in Advanced Novice Ladies; Matthew Chan for placing 1st in Elementary Men, and Rui Takada and Shinnosuke Miyamoto for their respective silver and bronze medals in Preliminary Men! An outstanding achievement.

A further congratulations to Regina Ng, Trisha Tong, Daniella Vassallo, Tamara Abagi and Sarah Batey for placing in the Top 10 among very tough competition, and to all of our other skaters who competed at Hollins Trophy.

Below are the results of all our SFSC skaters:

7th Place          Regina Ng – Preliminary

16th Place       Emily Lilley-Bull – Preliminary

18th Place       Sienna-Layne Samaseia – Preliminary

27th Place       Tanika Young – Preliminary

28th Place       Tia Fu – Preliminary

29th Place       Bella Bo – Preliminary

2nd Place         Rui Takada – Preliminary

3rd  Place        Shinnosuke Miyamoto – Preliminary

25th Place       Krystal Chan – Elementary

1st Place          Matthew Chan – Elementary

5th Place          Trisha Tong – Basic Novice A

4th Place          Daniella Vassallo – Intermediate Novice

1st Place          Vlada Vasiliev – Advanced Novice

9th Place          Tamara Abagi – Advanced Novice

11th Place       Melody Luo – Advanced Novice

13th Place       Rina Jiang – Advanced Novice

7th Place          Sarah Batey – Junior

18th Place       Serena Si – Junior

1st Place          Romy Grogan – Senior

Thank you for being a part of such a wonderful event and we hope to see you again next year!